Electrical power systems. 6th edn. (Print copy) by 
Electric Power Systems. 5th edn. (Print Copy) by
The definitive textbook for Power Systems students, providing a grounding in essential power system theory while also focusing on practical power engineering applications. Electric Power Systems has been an essential book in power systems engineering for over thirty years. Bringing the content firmly up-to-date whilst still retaining the flavour of Weedy's extremely popular original, this Fifth Edition has been revised by experts Nick Jenkins, Janaka Ekanayake and Goran Strbac. This wide-ranging text still covers all of the fundamental power systems subjects but is now expanded to cover increasingly important topics like climate change and renewable power generation. Updated material includes an analysis of today's markets and an examination of the current economic state of power generation. The physical limits of power systems equipment - currently being tested by the huge demand for power - is explored, and greater attention is paid to power electronics, voltage source and power system components, amongst a host of other updates and revisions. Supplies an updated chapter on power system economics and management issues and extended coverage of power system components. Also expanded information on power electronics and voltage source, including VSC HVDC and FACTS. Updated to take into account the challenges posed by different world markets, and pays greater attention to up-to-date renewable power generation methods such as wind power. Includes modernized presentation and greater use of examples to appeal to today's students, also retains the end of chapter questions to assist with the learning process. Also shows students how to apply calculation techniques.
Hughes Electrical and Electronic Technology. 12th edn. (Print copy) by
All engineers need to understand the fundamental principles of electrical and electronic technology. This best-selling text provides a clear and accessible introduction to the area, with balanced coverage of electrical, electronic, and power engineering.
Smart Grid by
Electric power systems worldwide face radical transformation with the need to decarbonise electricity supply, replace ageing assets and harness new information and communication technologies (ICT). The Smart Grid uses advanced ICT to control next generation power systems reliably and efficiently. This authoritative guide demonstrates the importance of the Smart Grid and shows how ICT will extend beyond transmission voltages to distribution networks and customer-level operation through Smart Meters and Smart Homes. Smart Grid Technology and Applications: Clearly unravels the evolving Smart Grid concept with extensive illustrations and practical examples. Describes the spectrum of key enabling technologies required for the realisation of the Smart Grid with worked examples to illustrate the applications. Enables readers to engage with the immediate development of the power system and take part in the debate over the future Smart Grid. Introduces the constituent topics from first principles, assuming only a basic knowledge of mathematics, circuits and power systems. Brings together the expertise of a highly experienced and international author team from the UK, Sri Lanka, China and Japan. Electrical, electronics and computer engineering researchers, practitioners and consultants working in inter-disciplinary Smart Grid RD&D will significantly enhance their knowledge through this reference. The tutorial style will greatly benefit final year undergraduate and master's students as the curriculum increasing focuses on the breadth of technologies that contribute to Smart Grid realisation.
‹› Power electronics : devices, circuits, and applications by
For junior or senior undergraduate students in Electrical and Electronic Engineering.
This text covers the basics of emerging areas in power electronics and a broad range of topics such as power switching devices, conversion methods, analysis and techniques, and applications.
Its unique approach covers the characteristics of semiconductor devices first, then ...
discusses the applications of these devices for power conversions.
Four main applications are included: flexible ac transmissions (FACTs), static switches, power supplies, dc drives, and ac drives.