It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
West Suffolk College Library
WBL - Project Management and Human Resources: Databases
Gale News, Business and ReferenceGale News, Business and Reference enables uses to access millions of pages of content ranging from journals and newspapers to business analysis and news archives on Gale's superior platforms designed to streamline the student and researcher workflow.
Gale News, Business and Reference enables uses to access millions of pages of content ranging from journals and newspapers to business analysis and news archives on Gale's superior platforms designed to streamline the student and researcher workflow.
Independent Digital Archive 1986 - 2016The Independent is a major British daily national newspaper, launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly politicised rivals. Its evolution over a quarter of a century has been considerable, but throughout that period it has retained a unique position in British journalism.
Over the last 30 years The Independent has taken strong campaigning positions on issues such as the legalisation of drugs, the War on Terror and the environment – in the case of the latter, arguably doing so earlier and more frequently than any other paper. In British politics, it has been a strong advocate of electoral reform, arguing that the UK's first-past-the-post system and unelected House of Lords are not suited to a modern democracy.
The Independent has consistently distinguished itself with innovative graphic design and prominent use of photography, often forcing others to copy its ideas. It is regarded as having sparked a freshening of newspaper layouts in the 1980s, while in 2003 it became the first paper to produce both a broadsheet and "compact" version, becoming compact-only in 2005 - a successful appeal to cramped commuters that caused The Times and The Guardian to follow suit.
In 1996, editor Andrew Marr introduced a radical overhaul of the paper, with a new concept for the front page that was described as both "brilliant" and "barmy", and unlike anything that had been seen before. In the 21st century The Independent has become known for its highly unorthodox and eye-catching front pages, which have often relied on full-page images or graphics rather than traditional headlines and written news content.
It received the "Newspaper of the Year" award in 1987, its first full year of publication, and by the end of 1988 its circulation had risen to more than 400,000. This success led to the launch of the Independent on Sunday in January 1990. In 2004 The Independent was again named newspaper of the year in recognition of its "constant and brave" editorial stance. Featuring journalists and columnists from across the political spectrum, the paper is generally regarded as centrist, taking idiosyncratic views on the free market, social issues and culture.
Lots of videos on all aspects of health and safety - Available in college only.
Times Digital ArchiveThe Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.