BTEC level 3 Nationals applied science student Book 2 (ebook) by BTEC level 3 Nationals applied science student Book 2 (Print Copy) by 
BTEC National applied science student book 1 by BTEC Nationals Applied Science Student Book 1 (E-book) by 
Crime Scene Investigation: Methods and Procedures by
"Pepper strikes a number of goals in one text simultaneously. It is a fine tool to assist CSI practitioners with their day-to-day duties; it is also a guide for career development and, in the comprehensive table of relevant statutes, Pepper provides commonly used abbreviations and academic references, all of which establish the book as a solid launch pad for further reading." Timothy G. ShilstonChief Superintendent, Northumbria Police, UK Forensic evidence is dynamic in its context and continues to be highly significant in the detection and prosecution of crime. This means that the knowledge, skill and ability of the person who examines the scene of the crime - the Crime Scene Investigator (CSI) - must be thorough and up to date. The second edition of this book guides trainee and newly appointed CSIs through the methods and procedures for the accurate recording and recovery of evidence from the scene of a crime. This step-by-step handbook has been thoroughly updated and includes features such as: Photographs of the recording, recovery and comparison of evidence Detailed drawings of evidence, organizational structures and procedures Checklists of roles, equipment and activities required at a crime scene Self-assessment questions There is also information on best practice and professional development that is invaluable to any new or aspiring CSI. Crime Scene Investigation is essential reading for all students - undergraduate or FE - with an interest in forensic law enforcement, particularly those wishing to become Crime Scene Investigators. It is also a handy reference for trainee and professional forensic practitioners.
Crime Scene to Court. 4th edn.(Print Copy) by
Written for non-scientists, or those with limited scientific knowledge, this fourth edition features new chapters on identifying an individual, including biometrics, and digital crime. Keeping readers at the forefront of current practices across the forensic disciplines, this is an excellent source of information for anyone studying forensic science or law.
Criminology.6th edn (Print copy) by
CRIMINOLOGY. Thorough. Engaging. Distinctive.Criminology is a core, introductory textbook that takes students further. From the first chapter, students are encouraged to regard themselves as producers of criminological knowledge. Starting from the basics, the book takes students on a journey through the subject. This begins with what crime isand the theories that try to explain it, through society's response to crime, and ultimately to how to carry out independent research and plan first steps in a career.The critical, applied approach is emphasized through some of the many features that are integrated throughout the book. These include conversations with authentic voices from the field, compelling personal insights from the authors, and challenges to students to question assumptions, apply knowledgeand critically reflect on their personal viewpoints.The ultimate goal behind Criminology is a bold, important, and ambitious one. Both student-focused and research engaged, the purpose of the book is to contribute towards producing the next generation of criminologists who are switched-on, excited, active, and - above all - critical.Online Resource Centre:Criminology is accompanied by an Online Resource Centre containing the following resources:* Selected further readings and web links* Over 100 multiple choice questions* Advice on 'decoding' academic articles* Numerous time-saving resources for teaching staff
Essential Forensic Biology by
A completely revised and updated edition that teaches the essentials of forensic biology, with increased coverage of molecular biological techniques and new information on wildlife forensics, wound analysis and the potential of microbiomes as forensic indicators This fully revised and updated introduction to forensic biology carefully guides the reader through the science of biology in legal investigations. Full-colour throughout, including many new images, it offers an accessible overview to the essentials of the subject, providing balanced coverage of the range of organisms used as evidence in forensic investigations, such as invertebrates, vertebrates, plants and microbes. The book provides an accessible overview of the decay process and discusses the role of forensic indicators like human fluids and tissues, including bloodstain pattern analysis, hair, teeth, bones and wounds. It also examines the study of forensic biology in cases of suspicious death. This third edition of Essential Forensic Biology expands its coverage of molecular techniques throughout, offering additional material on bioterrorism and wildlife forensics. The new chapter titled 'Wildlife Forensics' looks at welfare legislation, CITES and the use of forensic techniques to investigate criminal activity such as wildlife trafficking and dog fighting. The use of DNA and RNA for the identification of individuals and their personal characteristics is now covered as well, along with a discussion of the ethical issues associated with the maintenance of DNA databases. Fully revised and updated third edition of the successful student-friendly introduction to the essentials of Forensic Biology Covers a wide variety of legal investigations such as homicide, suspicious death, neglect, real and fraudulent claims for the sale of goods unfit for purpose, the illegal trade in protected species of plants and animals and bioterrorism Discusses the use of a wide variety of biological material for forensic evidence Supported by a website that includes numerous photographs, interactive MCQs, self-assessment quizzes and a series of questions and topics for further study to enhance student understanding Includes a range of important, key case studies in which the difficulties of evaluating biological evidence are highlighted Essential Forensic Biology, Third Edition is an excellent guide for undergraduates studying forensic science and forensic biology.
Forensic Psychology by
Introduces forensic psychology to students and professionals who want to better understand psychology's expanding influence on the study of law, crime and criminality Forensic psychology is a constantly growing discipline, both in terms of student interest and as a profession for graduates. This book highlights the often sizeable gap between media myths surrounding forensic practice and reality. Editors Graham Davies and Anthony Beech present an exciting and broad range of topics within the field, including detailed treatments of the causes of crime, investigative methods, the trial process, and interventions with different types of offenders and offences. Forensic Psychology: Crime, Justice, Law, Interventions, Third Edition covers every aspect of forensic psychology--from understanding criminal behaviour, to applying psychological theory to criminal investigation, analysing the legal process and the treatment of witnesses and offenders. Each chapter has been thoroughly revised and updated with the latest findings. The book also includes two entirely new chapters--one on psychopathy and crime, the other on female offenders. Drawing on a wealth of experience from leading researchers and practitioners, this new edition will interest and enthuse today's generation of students. All chapters thoroughly revised and updated Features two brand new chapters Supplemented by additional online resource materials, including related links, multiple choice questions, and PowerPoint slides Authored by a wide-range of experienced forensic psychology professionals Forensic Psychology, Third Edition is essential reading for undergraduates' first encounter with the subject area and is an excellent introduction for more specialised postgraduate courses.
Forensic science. 4th edn (ebook) by
This book is the perfect starting point for any newcomer to the field of forensic science.
It examines the entire process of conducting forensic science, from the collection of evidence at the crime scene, through the examination and evaluation of that evidence, to the presentation of scientific findings in court.
The ...
book is scientifically rigorous but written in a friendly and engaging style making it the ideal companion for undergraduate students beginning a forensic science course; as background for MSc students; as a reference for related professions such as lawyers or police officers; or simply for the casual reader who wants to learn more about this fascinating area
Forensic science 4th edn by
This book is the perfect starting point for any newcomer to the field of forensic science.
It examines the entire process of conducting forensic science, from the collection of evidence at the crime scene, through the examination and evaluation of that evidence, to the presentation of scientific findings in court.
The ...
book is scientifically rigorous but written in a friendly and engaging style making it the ideal companion for undergraduate students beginning a forensic science course; as background for MSc students; as a reference for related professions such as lawyers or police officers; or simply for the casual reader who wants to learn more about this fascinating area
The Human Bone Manual (ebook) by
Building on the success of their previous book, White and Folkens' The Human Bone Manual is intended for use outside the laboratory and classroom, by professional forensic scientists, anthropologists and researchers. The compact volume includes all the key information needed for identification purposes, including hundreds of photographs designed to show a maximum amount of anatomical information. Features more than 500 color photographs and illustrations in a portable format; most in 1:1 ratio Provides multiple views of every bone in the human body Includes tips on identifying any human bone or tooth Incorporates up-to-date references for further study
The Human Bone Manual. (Print Copy) by
Building on the success of their previous book, White and Folkens' The Human Bone Manual is intended for use outside the laboratory and classroom, by professional forensic scientists, anthropologists and researchers. The compact volume includes all the key information needed for identification purposes, including hundreds of photographs designed to show a maximum amount of anatomical information.