Skip to Main Content
Databases
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This is a general database covering many subjects with thousands of full-text journals
Business Insights: Global
This database contains over 12000 full text magazines, journals, newspapers, directories, case studies, industry reports and much more.
ClickView This link opens in a new window
ClickView online is an extensive library of video content covering all subject areas and also gives access to the last 28 days of all freeview TV. For teaching staff it enables you to create interactive video content embedding formative assessment tools and features
E-book Central e-books for FE Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books specifically for FE students. Search or click on a subject to see what is available. Login with your WSC Network username and password.
Economist Historical Archive 1843 - 2014
For over 170 years, the Economist has reported on the world's political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them, appealing to the world's elite for its economic and political analysis. The Economist Historical Archive offers an invaluable perspective on the great events of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries and is an essential accompaniment to The Times Digital Archive and the Financial Times Historical Archive for its overview of national and international affairs. It provides researchers with quick access to: •Editorials, news, commentary and letters that afford insight into British, European, American, and world affairs
•Highly regarded country reports, industry reports, supplements, and surveys that offer the ability to track regional trends and forecasts.
•Special surveys and supplements on countries and industries that offer perspectives on markets and geographies
•Renowned sections such as "Science and Technology" that provide in-depth topic analysis, as well as book reviews and obituaries that lend human interest
•Classified and display advertising that profiles major companies, job opportunities, educational opportunities, and more from a global perspective
•Key economic indicators post-1983 available in exportable format -- many charts and tables are downloadable as a spreadsheet, allowing users to manipulate statistical tables and financial and economic data
•With the full-text search capabilities, students and scholars can conduct research on all the great events of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries
Financial Times Historical Archive
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010 delivers the complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through 2010. Every article, advertisement, and market listing is included -- shown both individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day. Each item has been subject- or topic-categorized for fast retrieval and review.
Gale News, Business and Reference This link opens in a new window
Gale News, Business and Reference enables uses to access millions of pages of content ranging from journals and newspapers to business analysis and news archives on Gale's superior platforms designed to streamline the student and researcher workflow.
Independent Digital Archive 1986 - 2016
The Independent is a major British daily national newspaper, launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly politicised rivals. Its evolution over a quarter of a century has been considerable, but throughout that period it has retained a unique position in British journalism.
Over the last 30 years The Independent has taken strong campaigning positions on issues such as the legalisation of drugs, the War on Terror and the environment – in the case of the latter, arguably doing so earlier and more frequently than any other paper. In British politics, it has been a strong advocate of electoral reform, arguing that the UK's first-past-the-post system and unelected House of Lords are not suited to a modern democracy.
The Independent has consistently distinguished itself with innovative graphic design and prominent use of photography, often forcing others to copy its ideas. It is regarded as having sparked a freshening of newspaper layouts in the 1980s, while in 2003 it became the first paper to produce both a broadsheet and "compact" version, becoming compact-only in 2005 - a successful appeal to cramped commuters that caused The Times and The Guardian to follow suit.
In 1996, editor Andrew Marr introduced a radical overhaul of the paper, with a new concept for the front page that was described as both "brilliant" and "barmy", and unlike anything that had been seen before. In the 21st century The Independent has become known for its highly unorthodox and eye-catching front pages, which have often relied on full-page images or graphics rather than traditional headlines and written news content.
It received the "Newspaper of the Year" award in 1987, its first full year of publication, and by the end of 1988 its circulation had risen to more than 400,000. This success led to the launch of the Independent on Sunday in January 1990. In 2004 The Independent was again named newspaper of the year in recognition of its "constant and brave" editorial stance. Featuring journalists and columnists from across the political spectrum, the paper is generally regarded as centrist, taking idiosyncratic views on the free market, social issues and culture.
Infotrac Newsstand
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
The Related Resources feature recommends additional content of interest, providing a more dynamic, relevant presentation of related content. The InterLink feature provides a better cross-search experience via unique subject indexing and results-ranking algorithms, helping researchers find the content they need without having to know the specific resource in which to find it.
Safety Hub This link opens in a new window
Lots of videos on all aspects of health and safety - Available in college only.
