Cite Them Right: the essential referencing guide. 11th edn. (Print copy) by
This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The eleventh edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online.
How to complete your UCAS application 2020 entry by 
The good study guide. 2nd edn. (E-book) by The good study guide. New edn. by
Developing your learning skills is one of the best investments you can make. We all need to be lifelong learners now. Whether you are an experienced student or just starting out this book will stimulate, guide and support you. It will make you think about yourself and how your mind learns. And it will change forever the way that you study.
How to Research by
How to Research is a bestselling, practical book that reassures the first time researcher by leading them systematically through the whole research process; from the initial meetings with a supervisor to critically evaluating their ideas, doing the research and finally writing up the project. The book includes vignettes to help readers relate to research examples and provides both methodological and process information. New features in this edition include: Additional coverage on literature reviews New material on changes in research ethics More detailed information on the use of diaries, internet ethnographies and visual methods Increased coverage of mixed methodologies How to Research 4e is an ideal resource for the first-time researcher doing a small-scale research project in the social sciences whether they are at university or in the workplace. It supports its readers as they develop their skills to become more experienced researchers.
The Study Skills Handbook. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
How to Write Better Essays. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
This indispensable guide takes students through each step of the essay writing process, enabling them to tackle written assignments with confidence. Students will develop their ability to analyse complex concepts, evaluate and critically engage with arguments, communicate their ideas clearly and concisely and generate more ideas of their own. Chapters are short and succinct and cover topics such as reading purposefully, note-taking, essay writing in exams and avoiding plagiarism. Packed with practical activities and handy hints which students can apply to their own writing, this is an ideal resource for students looking to improve the quality and clarity of their academic writing. This book will be a source of guidance and inspiration for students of all disciplines and levels who need to write essays as part of their course.
Study Skills for Business and Management Students by
This practical handbook is an essential course companion for business and management students at degree level. It contains case studies, exercises, tips and self-assessment tools that will help students with their personal and professional development. The book covers key areas, such as: Learning and teaching methods Study strategies Time management Research methods Assessment activities Exam techniques Job searching And it also emphasizes the skills that are key for business and management courses, which include: Academic writing Critical and reflective thinking Effective communication Interpersonal skills Project management Research skills Team working Study Skills for Business and Management Students has been carefully structured to be used throughout a degree course in order to hone the skills necessary to get a good degree and begin a successful career. An accompanying website www.openup.co.uk/businesssuccess has more information on related careers with up-to-date web links.
Business Student's Handbook: skills for study and employment 6th edn. (Print copy) by
‭'It is very clear and easy to understand and well laid out. A good key text.' ‭Alison Bragg, Faculty Lead for Employability, Business and Law, De Montfort University‭ 'Even though I've been in the field for 25 years, I found new and engaging ‭information in The Business Student's Handbook. So no matter how many times ‭a student has been down this road, I'm confident that they will always find ‭something new here.' ‭Jayne Mothersdale, Governor and Principal Lecturer Learning & Teaching, Leeds ‭Beckett University ‭New edition of the definitive text for business students.‭The Business Student's Handbook brings together personal skills, study skills and employability ‭skills to help you succeed in your academic and professional lives. This handbook is all about ‭applying theory to practice; so you will find it filled with exercises, practical suggestions ‭and tips. ‭ This new edition covers: ‭Expanded sections on employability and transferable skills to help you become a highly ‭desirable graduate. A strong focus on written and oral communication skills and presentation skills.‭ Expanded data analysis and numeracy sections.‭ New emphasis on self-management, team work and planning makes this an essential resource ‭for any business student.‭ The new TECHSkills boxes focus on your digital skills to ensure you're making the most of the ‭best tools you can find online.‭ Additional resources, templates and activities are also available at www.pearsoned.co.uk/cameron ‭Sheila Cameron has worked for the Open University Business ‭School since its inception, now in a part-time role. She is also the ‭author of The MBA Handbook, focusing on postgraduate study ‭and executive education.
The complete guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by 
The Student's Guide to Writing: spelling, punctuation and grammar. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Aimed at students wishing to improve their writing skills, this guide deals with the key basics of grammar, punctuation and spelling while also showing students how to construct a sentence, how to build a paragraph and how to structure an essay. This third edition includes an expanded 'Spot the Mistake' section.
Essentials of essay writing: what markers look for by
This engaging text shows students what markers look for in their work and helps them to develop the skills they need to produce a first-class essay. It focuses on all the core elements of effective essay writing, including devising a question, critical thinking, engaging with the literature and structuring an essay. Chapters include clear and concise guidance on meeting marking criteria, illustrated with real students' essays from a range of disciplines, and activities which encourage students to put their new skills into practice. This is an essential resource for all university students for whom essays and coursework form part of their assessment. It is also ideal for further education students and those preparing for university-level study.
Presentation Skills for Students. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
This is the essential guide to the most transferable of all student skills: delivering a presentation clearly, coherently and confidently. Written in a friendly and accessible style, it takes the fear out of public speaking and helps students to acquire the skills they need to deliver effective presentations at university and in their future careers. Revised and updated throughout, it provides readers with practical guidance on controlling their nerves, creating visual aids and structuring presentations. This is an invaluable resource for students of all disciplines in further or higher education who have to give presentations as part of their course. It is also ideal for recent graduates looking to hone their presentation skills as they enter the job market.
Academic Writing and Grammar for Students. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Available as an E-Inspection Copy! Go herenbsp;to orderGrappling with grammar? Struggling with punctuation? Whether you′re writing an essay or assignment, report or dissertation, this useful guide shows you how to improve the quality of your work at university - fast - by identifying and using the correct use of English grammar and punctuation in your academic writing. Using tried and tested advice from student workshops, Alex Osmond shares practical examples that illustrate common mistakes, and shows you how to avoid them. You'll also discover guidance on: Writing structure - the what and how of crafting sentences and paragraphs Conciseness - how to express your point succinctly and clearly, showing you understand the topic Effective proofreading - the importance of the final 'tidy up', so your work is ready to hand in Referencing - common systems, and how to reference consistently (and avoid plagiarism). This new edition also includes separate chapters on critical thinking and referencing, exploring each topic in more detail, and learning outcomes in every chapter, so you can identify what new skills you'll take away. Personal tips and advice direct from Alex OsmondFor access to additional resources and one-to-one advice from Alex, ′like′ his Facebook page Academic Writing and Grammar for Students. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Writing for Academic Success.2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Writing for Academic Success is a vital practical guide for any graduate student. If you seek to manage your writing effectively, reduce stress, and improve your confidence and efficiency, this book is for you. The authors show you how to acquire communicative rigor in research essays, reports, book and article reviews, exam papers, research proposals, and literature reviews, through to thesis writing, posters and papers for presentation and publication. This Second Edition has been fully revised to reflect the online learning explosion. The authors provide insightful new material about how to work productively in different online contexts such as with blogs and wikis, setting up an e-portfolio, and raising an online profile. They also set out a focused guide to issues unique to digital communication, and working with and across different media and technologies. The book includes advice on common writing concerns, cross-cultural and inter-disciplinary practices, a list of helpful words and phrases, and subject-specific examples of writing ranging from economics to philosophy to medicine. Writing for Academic Success is essential for graduate students both in taught courses and conducting research, and is also very useful for upper-level undergraduates.
The Quick Fix Guide to Academic Writing: how to avoid big mistakes and small error. (Print copy) by
Lecturers request your electronic inspection copy hereWhether you're writing a paper, essay, assignment, or dissertation, this short and punchy book helps you improve your writing skills through minimal effort. Providing you with a quick set of writing rules to follow, this tried and tested guide uses a unique and easy to follow grid-based system. Packed with advice on understanding (big and little) common errors made in academic writing, it helps you identify patterns in your own writing and demonstrates how to reshape or re-evaluate them - and raise your writing game in any academic context. How-to tutorials include: Synthesizing and critiquing literature - and using your coding sheet to develop critical arguments Shaping abstracts, introductions, discussions, and conclusions - to improve the logic and structure of your writing Applying lessons-learned to future projects, whatever format of academic writing. Save time and improve your grades, with this essential quick fix guide! SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Word 2016 in Easy Steps (Print copy) by
Microsoft Word 2016 represents the latest in a series of improvements in functionality during the word processor's long history. Today, more than ever, people expect to be able to work easily across locations with different people and devices, all without having to worry about the underlying technologies.Word's new version helps us to quickly access the features we need, work collaboratively with unprecedented ease, and access information from the widest range of sources, andWord 2016 in easy steps covers the new features, including: Creating, structuring and adding styles to documents; text editing and formatting Adding pictures, graphics, video, hyperlinks and faster shape formatting Working with equations, symbols and tables Sharing documents and working collaboratively in real time Getting help quickly with Tell Me Using Smart Lookup to find things on the web The visual nature ofWord means that a clear, concise and colourful visual reference guide is an invaluable tool for both newcomers and those upgrading from older versions.Word 2016 in easy steps meets this challenge head on, using detailed images and easy-to-follow instructions to quickly get you up to speed.
Developing Work and Study Skills (Print copy) by
Developing Study and Work Skills is the first text to unite the fragmented study skills/work skills/personal development skills market by focusing on the key basic skills that students need in order to make them practically as well as academically prepared for the world of work. Chapters take students through the core personal, interpersonal, written, verbal, technical and numerical skills that HE courses and employers are looking for. This book is the first text to integrate study and management skills in such a way as to encourage a continuous pattern of self-analysis in the student, more thoroughly preparing the student for the transition from study to the world of work than any other text in the market.Students on modules such as Personal Development and Effectiveness, Study Skills, Management Skills, Business Skills, Business Communication, Business Awareness, Managing Oneself and Others at - for example - BABS/BABA, HND/HNC, DMS, MBA levels will all find this a hugely valuable text through study and working life.
Emarketing Excellence by
Now in its fourth edition, the hugely successful Emarketing Excellenceis fully updated; keeping you in line with the changes in this dynamic and exciting field and helping you create effective and up-to-date customer-centric e-marketing plans. A practical guide to creating and executing e-marketing plans, it combines established approaches to marketing planning with the creative use of new e-models and e-tools. This new edition seamlessly integrates social media technology like Facebook check-in, social networking, tablets and mobile applications into the mix, demonstrating how these new ways to reach customers can be integrated into your marketing plans. It also includes brand new sections on online marketing legislation and QR codes, plus an expanded section on email marketing, the most commonly used e-marketing tool. Offering a highly structured and accessible guide to a critical and far-reaching subject, Emarketing Excellence 4eprovides a vital reference point for all students of business or marketing and marketers and e-marketers involved in marketing strategy and implementation and who want a thorough yet practical grounding in e-marketing.
Brilliant Social Media: how to start, refine and improve your social media stragey. (Print copy) by
FAZED BY FACEBOOK? TONGUE-TIED BY TWITTER? LOST ON LINKEDIN? LEARN HOW TO NAVIGATE THE SOCIAL MEDIA JUNGLE, AND FIND OUT HOW TO GET YOUR BUSINESS NOTICED. nbsp; Social media is easy when you know how – this practical guide shows you how to get started, then refine and improve your strategy to get real business results. nbsp; Many businesses know that social media is important – but they either haven’t made a start or are dabbling without a proper strategy in place. It’s easy to feel overwhelmed by the task – how much of my time will it take? When will I see the benefit? What do I do to get heard? How do I integrate it with my marketing and business goals? What are the risks? However given that 91% of adults use social media regularly, it’s a superb opportunity for you to find and engage with present and potential customers much more interactively than traditional marketing methods. Brilliant Social Media will help you get started with social media, then refine and improve your experience with a series of sample straightforward steps that you can start to implement straightaway. nbsp; Brilliant outcomes: Understand how social media works and which platforms will best suit your business Plan a social media strategy that fits into your wider digital and marketing strategies Connect with your customers, identify new clients and find out what people really think of your business Adapt and refine your strategy as you learn from what works, and what doesn’t
Microsoft Word 2016 Step by Step (Print copy) by
This is learning made easy. Get more done quickly with Word 2016. Jump in wherever you need answers--brisk lessons and colourful screenshots show you exactly what to do, step by step. Get easy-to-follow guidance from a certified Microsoft Office Specialist Master Learn and practice new skills while working with sample content, or look up specific procedures Create visually appealing documents for school, business, community, or personal purposes Use built-in tools to capture and edit graphics Present data in tables, diagrams, and charts Track and compile reference materials Manage document collaboration and review Fix privacy, accessibility, and compatibility issues Supercharge your efficiency by creating custom styles, themes, and templates
Office 2016 at Work for Dummies® (Print copy) by
Get more productive using the new features in Microsoft Office 2016! It may seem like an eternity since your IT department upgraded you to the latest version of Microsoft Office. Prepare yourself, because Office 2016 is packed with updated features and new ways to increase your productivity in the office! With Office 2016 at Work For Dummies, we make it easy by breaking the content down into over 300 of the most common tasks and operations, providing you with straightforward, simple-to-navigate, approachable information. With four-color illustrations for visual support as your work through the tasks, and then nearly three hours of supporting video, you can choose your path for learning the ins and outs of Office 2016. As the world's leading productivity software, Microsoft Office plays an integral role in the daily lives of professionals. Understanding how to quickly and accurately use Office 2016 can improve your productivity, enhance your deliverables, and provide you with the tools and knowledge you need to be successful. Choose your path for learning and explore the fundamental features of Microsoft Office 2016 through task based exercises supported by online video Dive into Microsoft Word by creating a document, formatting paragraphs and pages, and adding tables and graphics Explore Microsoft Excel's ability to analyze data through creating formulas and functions, and learn to format and print spreadsheets Use Outlook to organize your work day, and find out how to make amazing PowerPoint presentations using the new features in the 2016 version Office 2016 at Work For Dummies is the perfect office companion if you use Microsoft Office regularly and need to get up to speed on the changes with the latest release as quickly and efficiently as possible.
Branding Your Business(E-book) by
The only way forward for business success is to create a memorable brand and fix it in the consumer's mind. Branding Your Business explains the whole branding process in easy-to-follow terms. Providing practical help instead of academic theories, it explains what a brand is and what it is not, how to conduct a 'DIY' brand audit and how to use marketing NLP and psychology principles to create a powerful brand for your business. Based around the theory that a brand is the total perception a customer has about a company, its products or services, Branding Your Business will reveal what is needed to create and manage successful brands, increase profits and leave the competition standing.
Emarketing Excellence by
Now in its fourth edition, the hugely successful Emarketing Excellenceis fully updated; keeping you in line with the changes in this dynamic and exciting field and helping you create effective and up-to-date customer-centric e-marketing plans. A practical guide to creating and executing e-marketing plans, it combines established approaches to marketing planning with the creative use of new e-models and e-tools. This new edition seamlessly integrates social media technology like Facebook check-in, social networking, tablets and mobile applications into the mix, demonstrating how these new ways to reach customers can be integrated into your marketing plans. It also includes brand new sections on online marketing legislation and QR codes, plus an expanded section on email marketing, the most commonly used e-marketing tool. Offering a highly structured and accessible guide to a critical and far-reaching subject, Emarketing Excellence 4eprovides a vital reference point for all students of business or marketing and marketers and e-marketers involved in marketing strategy and implementation and who want a thorough yet practical grounding in e-marketing.
Essentials of marketing. 3rd edn. by
This text brings together theory and practice of marketing. It covers a wide range of applications, industries and markets, exploring the way marketers must respond to those situations that demand an innovative response. Written in a lively style with great design, Essentials of Marketing is a concise, no-nonsense book, designed to contain all the essential information that students need to understand when taking a short introductory course in Marketing.
Marketing: an introduction. 13th edn. by
An Introduction to the World of Marketing Using a Proven, Practical, and Engaging Approach
Marketing: An Introduction shows students how customer value–creating it and capturing it–drives every effective marketing strategy. Using an organization and learning design that includes real-world examples and information that help bring marketing to life, the text gives readers everything they need to know about marketing in an effective and engaging total learning package.
The Thirteenth Edition reflects the latest trends in marketing, including new coverage on online, social media, mobile, and other digital technologies, leaving students with a richer understanding of basic marketing concepts, strategies, and practices.
Marketing concepts and strategies. 6th edn. by
This book combines a thorough overview of essential marketing principles, concepts and strategies with a visually-engaging, reader-friendly presentation. The text takes students beyond the marketing mix, to recognize that in addition to producing and executing marketing programs, the marketing philosophy can add much strategic direction and market insight to an organization's strategizing. The world for marketers has gone digital, consumers communicate readily with each other via social media, marketing has become more aligned to ethical, responsible and sustainability issues and marketing as an academic discipline has become more critical and reflective. All these developments are key themes in this new edition. This textbook is autopackaged with CourseMate. CourseMate brings course concepts to life with interactive learning, study, and exam preparation tools that support the printed textbook and the textbook-specific website. CourseMate includes an integrated eBook and interactive teaching and learning tools including quizzes, flashcards, videos, and more and an EngagementTracker, a first-of-its-kind tool that monitors student engagement in the course
Principles and Practice of Marketing by
When you think of marketing you may think of the adverts that pop up at the side of your screen or the billboards you see when you're out - all those moments in the day when somebody is trying to grab your attention and sell you something! Marketing is about advertising and communications in part, but it's also about many other things which all aim to create value for customers, from product research and innovation to after-care service and maintaining relationships. It's a rich and fascinating area of management waiting to be explored - so welcome to Marketing!nbsp; Jim Blythe's Principles and Practice of Marketingnbsp;will ease you into the complexities of Marketing to help you achieve success in your studies and get the best grade. It provides plenty of engaging real-life examples, including brands you know such as Netflix and PayPal - marketing is not just about products, but services too. Marketing changes as the world changes, and this textbook is here to help, keeping you up to speed on key topics such as digital technologies, globalization and being green.nbsp; The companion websitenbsp;offers a wealth of resources for both students and lecturers andnbsp;is available atnbsp;www.sagepub.co.uk/blythe3e. Annbsp;electronic inspection copy is also available for instructors.
Principles of Marketing by
This well-respected and widely-adopted text has now been fully updated to reflect the continued evolution of the marketing discipline and to retain its topicality and freshness.
Marketing Communications (E-book) by
Marketing Communications, 5th edition is the most complete and accessible introduction to marketing communications on the market. It combines breadth of coverage with a student-friendly sty≤ and is an essential resource for Marketing and business degree students studying Marketing modules at undergraduate and postgraduate level. This new edition has an exciting and modern new design and is structured into 6-parts: the first 2 sections focus on what Marketing Communications is and how it works; Parts 3 and 4 look at the practical management and tools of Marketing Communications; and, new to this edition, Part 5 covers its emerging relationships with the media. Finally part 6 covers its connection to special audiences. Offered with this new 5th edition at www.pearsoned.co.uk/fill are podcasts by the author, video cases that accompany each part, and direction to key adademic papers in marketing communications. Students and tutors can also share their marketing communications essays, thoughts, ideas, and favourite campaigns and papers.
Packaging the Brand: the relationship between packaging design and brand identity. (E-book) by
While many other areas of design have commercial aspects, the success of a piece of packaging design is inextricably linked with its ability to sell a product. Packaging the Brand discusses the implications of this commercial function for a designer.It explores methods of visually communicating the value of a product to its target audience and examines the entire lifespan of a piece of packaging: from its manufacture and construction, to its display in various retail environments, to its eventual disposal and the associated environmental concerns.
Marketing: concepts and strategies. 7th edn. (Print copy) by 
Principles of marketing. 16th edn. (Print copy) by 
Social Media Marketing. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
**Winner of the TAA 2017 Textbook Excellence Award**"Social Media Marketing deserves special kudos for its courage in tackling the new frontier of social media marketing. This textbook challenges its readers to grapple with the daunting task of understanding rapidly evolving social media and its users."--TAA Judges Panel Social Media Marketing was the first textbook to cover this vital subject. It shows how social media fits into and complements the marketer's toolbox. The book melds essential theory with practical application as it covers core skills such as strategic planning for social media applications, incorporating these platforms into the brand's marketing communications executions, and harnessing social media data to yield customer insights. The authors outline the "Four Zones" of social media that marketers can use to achieve their strategic objectives. These include: 1. Community (e.g. Instagram) 2. Publishing (e.g. Tumblr)3. Entertainment (e.g. Candy Crush Saga)4. Commerce (e.g. Groupon)This Second Edition contains new examples, industry developments and academic research to help students remain current in their marketing studies, as well as a new and improved user-friendly layout to make the text easy to navigate.The textbook also provides a free companion website that offers valuable additional resources for both instructors and students. Visit: study.sagepub.com/smm. Readers of the book are also invited to join the authors and others online by using the hashtag: #smm
Maths and English for business adminstration (Printc Copy) by 
Business Math for Dummies. (Print copy) by
Now, it is easier than ever before to understand complex mathematical concepts and formulas and how they relate to real-world business situations. All you have to do it apply the handy information you will find in Business Math For Dummies. Featuring practical practice problems to help you expand your skills, this book covers topics like using percents to calculate increases and decreases, applying basic algebra to solve proportions, and working with basic statistics to analyze raw data. Find solutions for finance and payroll applications, including reading financial statements, calculating wages and commissions, and strategic salary planning. Navigate fractions, decimals, and percents in business and real estate transactions, and take fancy math skills to work. You?ll be able to read graphs and tables and apply statistics and data analysis. You?ll discover ways you can use math in finance and payroll investments, banking and payroll, goods and services, and business facilities and operations. You?ll learn how to calculate discounts and markup, use loans and credit, and understand the ins and outs of math for business facilities and operations. You?ll be the company math whiz in no time at all! Find out how to: Read graphs and tables Invest in the future Use loans and credit Navigate bank accounts, insurance, budgets, and payroll Calculate discounts and markup Measure properties and handle mortgages and loans Manage rental and commercial properties Complete with lists of ten math shortcuts to do in meetings and drive your coworkers nuts and ten tips for reading annual reports, Business MathFor Dummies is your one-stop guide to solving math problems in business situations.
Mathematics for economics and business (Print copy) by 
Management and cost accounting. 10th edn. (Print copy) by 
Accounting and Finance for Non-Specialists. 10th edn. (Print copy) by
The 10th edition of this market-leading text offers an accessible, effective introduction to key accounting and finance topics. If you are new to accounting, or are studying a degree in accounting, this book will help you get to grips with the important principles of accounting and how to apply your learning to real-world business scenarios in a user-friendly manner.
Accounting: a smart approach. 3rd edn. (print copy) by
Engaging and lively, clear and practical, Accounting: a Smart Approach 2e brings accounting to life for both lecturers and students. Developed specifically with non-specialist students in mind, it addresses key questions that students might have:
Management accounting for business. 6th edn. (Print copy) by 
Accounting for Non-Accounting Students 9th Edn (Print copy) by
Accounting for Non-Accounting Students delivers a highly accessible and comprehensive guide for those who have had little to no previous knowledge of accounting. Using clear and non-technical language alongside companion illustrations, up-to-date articles and questions, it offers the essentials that will enable users to grasp the rules of accounting and advance in their careers or studies.
A Dictionary of Accounting. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
This best-selling dictionary includes more than 3,800 entries covering all aspects of accounting, including financial accounting, financial reporting, management accounting, taxation, auditing, corporate finance, and accounting bodies and institutions. Its international coverage includesimportant terms from UK, US, Australia, India, and Asia-Pacific. Over 150 new entries have been added to this edition to reflect the very latest developments in the accounting profession, e.g. Accounting Coucil, European Financial Stability Mechanism, and General Anti-Abuse Rule. In addition, existing entries have been updated to cover the latest developments,most notably the Financial Reporting Standard Applicable in the UK and the Republic of Ireland, which sets out new rules in areas such as goodwill, hedge accounting, and fair value accounting. There is increased coverage of topics such as corporate governance, accounting ethics, accounting scandals,and major firms and professional bodies.With its authoritative and accessible definitions and its wide-ranging coverage, this dictionary is essential for students and professionals in accounting and finance. It is also an ideal source of reference for anyone seeking a clear guide to the often-confusing world of accountancy terms.
Financial and Management Accounting: an instroduction. 7th edn. (Print copy) by
Were you looking for the book with access to MyAccountingLab? This product is the book alone and does NOT come with access to MyAccountingLab. Buy Financial and Management Accounting with MyAccountingLab access card (ISBN 9781292086682) if you need access to MyAccountingLab as well, and save money on this resource. You will also need a course ID from your instructor to access MyAccountingLab. Financial & Management Accounting An Introduction seventh edition Pauline Weetman The seventh edition of this well-respected and fully updated text retains all of the features that have contributed to the book's popularity: focus on the accounting equation, student activities and real-life commentaries throughout each chapter, a clear and accessible writing style, and inclusion of real-world case studies. With a strong emphasis on the Conceptual Framework of the International Accounting Standards Board, Financial & Management Accounting: An Introduction guides students in understanding the 'why' and not just the 'what' of financial and management accounting. Key features: New case studies containing examples from real-world companies New coverage on fair value throughout New coverage of the Strategic Report and Directors' Report Fully up-to-date with International Financial Reporting Standards, IFRS Focuses on specific knowledge outcomes, with end-of-chapter self-evaluation Questions are graded according to difficulty to test student understanding Definitions and terminology is fully in-line with the revised IASB Conceptual Framework Experience-driven conversations between two managers are included throughout, providing a practical examination of real life scenarios. Financial & Management Accounting: An Introduction is aimed at first-level undergraduates on business studies degrees taking introductory financial and management accounting classes; first-level specialist accounting undergraduate students; introductory core accounting for MBA and postgraduate specialist Masters students, focusing on analysis through the accounting equation and a questioning approach to problem solving; and professional courses where accounting is introduced for the first time. Pauline Weetman BA, BSc (Econ), PhD, CA, FRSE, is Professor Emerita of Accounting at the University of Edinburgh, and has extensive experience of teaching at undergraduate and postgraduate level, with previous chairs held at Stirling, Heriot-Watt, Strathclyde and Glasgow Universities. She received the Distinguished Academic Award of the British Accounting Association in 2005. She has convened the examining board of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland and was formerly Director of Research at ICAS.
BTEC National business: Level 3. Book 2 (Print copy) by 
Business Ethics and Values. 4th edn (Print copy) by
How do corporate social responsibilities, and good or bad corporate practice, impact on business success in a global economy? Are individuals responsible for the ethical outcomes of companies' actions, or are companies themselves responsible? How do you determine what course of action has the best ethical outcome for any given business situation? Fisher, Lovell and Valero-Silva offer the reader a comprehensive introduction to the ideas and complexities of the subject of ethics in the contemporary business world whilst making it relevant to today's business students through the inclusion of frequent interesting examples and activities that put the reader in a position where ethical questions must be considered and debated. This 4th edition has been comprehensively updated and offers more chances for illustration and discussion of ethics in the messy day to day practicalities of modern business through a wide range of case studies, examples and exercises.
Ethical decision making in business: a managerial approach. 9th edn. (Print copy_ by 
Management Ethics by
The recent financial crisis has awakened a renewed sensibility to ethics in business and management, and an increasing interest in a better understanding of how ethics and economics are intertwined. Managers and executives must understand not just the moral value of ethical behaviour, but also how this can strengthen and benefit the organization.
Managing Business Ethics : Straight Talk about How to Do It Right.. 7th edn. (Print copy) by 
BTEC national business : student book 1 (Print and E-book) by 
BTEC National business: student book 2 (Print and E-book) by 
Business in Context: an introduction to business and its environment. 6th edn. (Print copy) by
What are the benefits and problems of off-shoring? Can firms really be as powerful as nation states? How useful is PEST for developing effective strategies? How will the 2008 financial crisis impact business? Only David Needle's bestselling textbook introduces you to the full picture of modern business - the innovators, the regulators, the defining issues, and the turbulence.
The business environment 7th edn. (Print copy) by
In a fast-paced and constantly changing world, it is more important than ever to have a sound appreciation of the context in which business organisations exist and operate. Now in its 7th edition, this best-selling textbook offers a comprehensive, yet accessible, introduction to the wide range of external influences that affect business operations and decisions in today's increasingly globalised world. How do changing, and often unpredictable, economic or political conditions impact on business? How are business organisations affected by globalisation? What role do environmental responsibility and ethics have to play in business decisions? Using well-known examples and case studies from a broad range of international organisations, this 7th edition of The Business Environment addresses these key questions and many more. It includes a chapter on the global context of business together with International Business in Action case studies, both of which clearly illustrate the global nature of today's world of business.
Practical financial management by
Practical Financial Management is intended to help those who find business finance confusing. Now in its eighth edition, it continues to provide advice on proper financial planning and control, and reinforces essential points through the use of questions within each section
Managing finance: Course book by
BPP Learning Media s Business Essentials books can be specifically used on courses leading to diplomas in business, as generic texts on a wide range of degree programmes or as background reading and reference materials for the particular subject areas on a multitude of business related courses. The Course Books cover Edexcel s current guidance for the Higher Nationals in Business
Effective Financial Management by
Financial management comprises more than accounting and reporting. It is crucial at all stages in the business cycle, whatever the state of your business. Effective Financial Management starts with advice on raising money for a business, continues through maintaining investor relationships, includes useful information on accounting, reporting and communicating effectively with a wide range of stakeholders, gives vital tips on budgeting, forecasting and managing business costs and cash flow, and tells you how to successfully assess projects and buy assets. This indispensible guide will appeal if you are a financial or non-financial manager, in a small or medium sized enterprise, an established entrepreneur or if you are setting up your own business for the first time. It covers day to day financial concerns of a business in a practical commonsense way.
Accounting and Finance for Non-Specialists. 10th edn. (Print copy) by
The 10th edition of this market-leading text offers an accessible, effective introduction to key accounting and finance topics. If you are new to accounting, or are studying a degree in accounting, this book will help you get to grips with the important principles of accounting and how to apply your learning to real-world business scenarios in a user-friendly manner.
Economics and the Business Environment (E-book) by
Economics and the Business Environment is unique in introducing the essential principles of microeconomics and macroeconomics and applying them to the world of business. Consideration is also given to wider, topical business issues, such as business strat
Management accounting for business. 6th edn. (Print copy) by Business Student's Handbook. 6th edn. (Printc copy) by
‭'It is very clear and easy to understand and well laid out. A good key text.' ‭Alison Bragg, Faculty Lead for Employability, Business and Law, De Montfort University‭ 'Even though I've been in the field for 25 years, I found new and engaging ‭information in The Business Student's Handbook. So no matter how many times ‭a student has been down this road, I'm confident that they will always find ‭something new here.' ‭Jayne Mothersdale, Governor and Principal Lecturer Learning & Teaching, Leeds ‭Beckett University ‭New edition of the definitive text for business students.‭The Business Student's Handbook brings together personal skills, study skills and employability ‭skills to help you succeed in your academic and professional lives. This handbook is all about ‭applying theory to practice; so you will find it filled with exercises, practical suggestions ‭and tips. ‭ This new edition covers: ‭Expanded sections on employability and transferable skills to help you become a highly ‭desirable graduate. A strong focus on written and oral communication skills and presentation skills.‭ Expanded data analysis and numeracy sections.‭ New emphasis on self-management, team work and planning makes this an essential resource ‭for any business student.‭ The new TECHSkills boxes focus on your digital skills to ensure you're making the most of the ‭best tools you can find online.‭ Additional resources, templates and activities are also available at www.pearsoned.co.uk/cameron ‭Sheila Cameron has worked for the Open University Business ‭School since its inception, now in a part-time role. She is also the ‭author of The MBA Handbook, focusing on postgraduate study ‭and executive education.
BTEC national business : student book 1 (E-book) by BTEC National business: student book 2 (Print and E-book) by 
Leadership: theory and practice. 6th edn. (Print copy) by
Adopted at more than 1,000 colleges and universities worldwide, the market-leading text owes its success to the unique way in which it combines an academically robust account of the major theories and models of leadership with an accessible style and practical exercises that help students apply what they learn. Each chapter of Peter Northouse's Leadership: Theory and Practice follows a consistent format, allowing students to contrast the various theories, and three case studies in each chapter provide practical examples of each theory or trait discussed. The Sixth Edition adds an important new chapter on Servant Leadership. The Sixth Edition is also available as an interactive eBook (ISBN 9781452226378). Take a demo of Chapter 11: Authentic Leader.
The Leadership Experience by
Master the critical leadership skills and solid understanding of today's theory needed to become an effective business leader in today's turbulent times with Daft's THE LEADERSHIP EXPERIENCE, 6E. Acclaimed author Richard Daft helps you explore the latest thinking in leadership theory and contemporary practices at work within organizations throughout the world. You will examine emerging topics, including enhancement of emotional intelligence, leadership vision and courage, leadership of virtual teams, and open innovation, and will connect those topics to recent world events such as ethical scandals and political turmoil. Packed with memorable examples and unique insights into actual leadership decisions, this full-color text includes crisp, clear visuals to reinforce the book's engaging presentation. This edition's proven applications, specifically designed for today's leadership theory and applications course, and a solid foundation grounded in established scholarly research make the topic of leadership come alive. In addition, THE LEADERSHIP EXPERIENCE is available with CengageNOW for the first time. CengageNOW provides an integrated text and online learning solution that enhances understanding of course content and offers opportunities to extend learning.
Organizational Behaviour by
This text encourages participate teaching and active learning through a structured style and format, with each chapter containing a list of key concepts and objectives.
The SAGE Handbook of Leadership by
Leadership pervades every aspect of organizational and social life, and its study has never been more diverse, nor more fertile. With contributions from those who have defined that territory, this volume is not only a key point of reference for researchers, students and practitioners, but also an agenda-setting prospective and retrospective look at the state of leadership in the twenty-first century. It evaluates the domain and stretches it further by considering leadership scholarship from every angle, concluding with an optimistic look at the future of leaders, followers and their place in organizations and society at large.
Developing Leadership Abilities. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
"What kind of leader am I? What kind of leader will I become?" Developing Leadership Abilities, Second Edition was written to help college students get on the fast track to becoming a leader. Providing dozens of practical examples, the book moves quickly while giving an organized, readable, and logical analysis of leadership. The book offers the following pedagogical tools to help students reach their own leadership potential: v Insights Boxes -throughout the chapters ensure that key points stand out. v Your Turn features -give frequent opportunities to record personal experiences, insights, impressions, and questions. v Meet a Leader-- Introduces the reader successful leaders college and career environments. v Personal Leadership Plan --Helps students hone their skills in the leadership realm. v Assess Your Approach to Leadership -This brief exercise gives students an opportunity for self-reflection and a mirror on how their own background will affect their leadership qualities. v Summary -Located at the end of each chapter, reinforces the key points. The book is brief enough to keep student interest and is based on solid empirical data. The book's conversational and interactive format answers the q uestions: what makes a leader, what do leaders do, and how do leaders overcome problems?
Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice 14th edn. (Print copy) by
Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is the bestselling, definitive text for all HRM students and professionals. Providing a complete resource for understanding and implementing HR in relation to the needs of the business as a whole, it contains in-depth coverage of all the key areas essential to the HR function such as employment law, employee relations, learning and development, performance and reward. Accessible and to the point as ever, this fully updated 14th edition includes emerging theory and practice, embracing the most current thinking on engagement, talent management and leadership development. With updated case studies and references to academic journals, professional magazines and recent research and surveys, it also includes coverage of new approaches to topics such as job evaluation and pay structures. Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is aligned with the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) professional map and standards, with the sections meeting CIPD learning outcomes now even clearer than before. Comprehensive online support material for instructors, students and HR managers are included. Resources for students and professionals include multiple choice questions, flash cards, case studies, further reading and a glossary of HRM terms. The lecturers' manual contains session notes, discussion questions, a literature review and a complete set of lecture slides.
How to manage difficult people. (Print copy) by 
Introducing Human Resource Management. 7th edn. (Print copy) by
"A good, reliable and accurate all round book with lots of useful models that are well explained and illustrated." Gill Christy, Visiting Fellow, University of Portsmouth Introducing Human Resource Management is a lively and engaging introduction to the key topics and issues surrounding people management. Clearly linking HR theory to the work environment, this book explores core areas such as HR strategy and planning, employee engagement, diversity and equality, and talent management and development. The text combines solid academic underpinning with practical examples to allow you to consolidate your learning and apply it in practice.
Human Resource Management by
This introductory text aims to provide a balance between conceptual issues surrounding the debate on human-resource management and more practical aspects. This edition features an updated section on Europe and a number of new case studies.
BTEC national business : student book 1 (E-book) by BTEC National business: student book 2 (Print and E-book) by 
Management and Organisational Behaviour. 10th edn. (Print copy) by
Now in its 11th edition Laurie Mullins's Management & Organisational Behaviour is the essential guide to OB for students today. Over half a million students have used this engaging and practically focused book as their introduction to the world of management and organisational behaviour, and it continues to evolve and improve to serve the needs of modern students.Using both theory and practical, real-world examples, the textbook considers how organisational performance can be improved through effective management of people. This unique approach to the subject enables students to relate Organisational Behaviour to Management in the broader social and cultural contexts.
Organizational Behaviour. 9th edn. (Print copy) by
Organizational Behaviour is the most established and yet most engaging book of its kind available today. This text blends critical thinking and social science to give students an insight into organisational behaviour.
Organizational Change. 5th edn (Print copy) by
This very successful textbook explores change and how it relates to the complexities of organizational life, and puts an emphasis on applying the theory to practice. Now significantly updated and in its 5th edition, Organizational Change reflects a rapidly changing world and considers 'how change has changed'. The book is structured in three parts. The first part considers the causes and nature of change. Part two opens up the organization to expand on issues of structuring for change, the cultural and political contexts for change and how to lead change. Part three moves firmly into addressing the more practical considerations of designing, planning and implementing change.
How to Research (E-book) by
This edition is completely updated with revised chapters on how to approach research analysis - data collection software as well as time management - for optimal use in academic and professional research projects.
The Good Research Guide (E-book) by
As a best-selling introductory book on the basics of social research, "The Good Research Guide" provides an accessible yet comprehensive introduction to the main approaches to social research and the methods most commonly used by researchers in the social sciences. This edition has been updated to account for recent developments in the field such as: the emergence of mixed methods approaches; increased use of internet research; more frequent use of methods such as triangulation and focus groups; and, developments in research ethics.Written for anyone undertaking a small-scale research project, either as part of an academic course or as part of their professional development, this book provides: a clear, straightforward introduction to data collection methods and data analysis; explanations of the key decisions researchers need to take, with practical advice on how to make appropriate decisions; and, essential checklists to guide good practice. This book is perfect for the first-time researcher looking for guidance on the issues they should consider and traps they should avoid when embarking on a social research project.
Research Methods for Business Students (E-book) by
In this book, Saunders et al address what are perhaps the two biggest problems in teaching Research Methods - getting students interested in methodology and theory and helping them to understand the practical relevance. Depth of coverage combined with an accessible style, a real practicality and a straightforward structure result in consistently good student and lecturer feedback. Saunders is an excellent book in terms of both coverage and clarity of expression and this 4th edition will go from strength to strength.
A Practical Guide to Research Methods (E-book) by
This practical, down-to-earth guide is for researchers, students, community groups, charities or employees, in fact anyone who needs to put together research projects quickly and effectively. It contains everything from developing your idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results. Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project.
The good research guide: for small scale research projects 5th edn. (Print copy) by 
Doing Your Business Research Project. (print copy) by
Available as an E-Inspection Copy! Go herenbsp;to orderTaking the fear out of writing your business project, this book helps you understand and carry out each step of the research process. With detailed, friendly and engaging support it takes you from the very beginning to the very end. Key features: Chapters are structured around FAQs such as 'How to choose a research question?', 'How do I go about a literature review?' guiding you towards a full understanding of the research process Workbook tasks help you shape your thoughts on each topic, enabling you to decide your own research question and how you will research it The importance of various ideas is clearly signposted, helping you prioritise your time according to your needs and goals. Templates and checklists from the book are also available for download at the Doing Your Business Research Project companion website at study.sagepub.com/beechThis interactive guide is ideal for all Business and Management students about to complete a research project or dissertation.
Doing your research project: a guide for first-time researchers 6th edn. (print copy0 by 
The Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy here.The ultimate companion to successfully completing your research project, the author guides you through a step-by-step approach to research and provides all of the skills and momentum you need to excel. Each stage of a project is clearly set out with best practice highlighted alongside pragmatic advice for tackling research in the real world. The Third Edition uses multidisciplinary case studies, and examples from the author's own experience, to answer your questions and support your progress as you move smoothly through each stage. With a new chapter on mixed methods approaches, more on disseminating research, more on the practical and legal implications of ethics and more international examples, the book is packed full of learning features and tools to support your journey, including: A fully-developed website with podcasts, videos, journal articles and examples of real projects Activities and worksheets to help you organize your time Learning objectives to sustain your momentum Top tips relating to key research skills Full glossary to test understanding and provide definitions Annotated further reading to help you move through the literature 'Excuse me, I have a question!' feature to answer common questions. Warm, innovative and clever, this book is packed full of must-have information for anyone doing a research project.
Essentials of Business Research: a guide to doing your research project. (Print copy) by
Essentials of Business Research: A Guide to Doing Your Research Project is a concise, student-friendly text that cuts through the jargon of research methods terminology to present a clear guide to the basics of methodology in a business and management context. This extremely accessible book is informed throughout by the use of clear case studies and examples that serve to bring the research process to life for student readers. Unusually for a Methods text, Wilson also explicitly considers the importance of the supervisor in the dissertation process, and explains for the reader what lecturers are looking for from their students at every stage of the process in a good research project. This book aims to guide the student through the entire research process by using actual student case examples and explaining the role of the supervisor and how to meet their expectations. Key features include: - ′You′re the Supervisor′ sections - helps students to meet their learning outcomes; - ′Common questions and answers′ - provides students with an invaluable point of reference for some of the challenges they are likely to face while undertaking their research project; - Comprehensive section on ethical issues students need to consider when undertaking their research project; - A full student glossary. - The book is packed throughout with student-friendly features such as helpful diagrams, student case studies, chapter objectives, annotated further reading sections and summary and references at the end of each chapter. Essentials of Business Research is accompanied by a companion website containing an array of material for lecturers and students including: multiple choice questions to enable students to test their knowledge and progress; chapter-by-chapter links to academic journal articles demonstrating each method′s application; chapter-by-chapter links to youtube resources to provide further context; chapter-by-chapter powerpoint slides to help lecturers and students.
The Study Skills Handbook. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.