Basic Pharmacokinetics (Print Copy) by
Basic Pharmacokinetics provides an understanding of the principles of pharmacokinetics and biopharmaceutics. It addresses clearly and concisely how these principles can be applied to achieve successful drug therapy. the application of principles and equations are illustrated with related problem sets and problem solving exercises.
BMA new guide to medicines & drugs. 10th edn. (Print Copy) by
A complete home reference to prescribed and over-the-counter medication. Discover how medicines work, what they treat, their risks, benefits, and side effects from this new edition.
Clear and easy-to-use, the New Guide to Medicines and Drugs explains what the major drug groups are and what they are used for. ...
It explains how drugs work, dosage and side-effects, and possible interactions with other medicines.
Clear, concise, and jargon-free, this book provides guidance for anybody taking medication or wanting to know more about the drugs used in common medical practice.
BNF for Children (BNFC) (Print Copy) by
The BNF for Children (BNFC) 2020-2021 provides essential practical information to all healthcare professionals involved in the prescribing, dispensing, monitoring and administration of medicines to children.
It addresses a significant knowledge gap in many areas of paediatric practice by providing practical information on the use of medicines in children of all ...
ages from birth to adolescence. Recommendations in the BNFC have been constructed on the basis of authoritative sources, emerging evidence and best practice guidelines.
The content has been carefully validated by a network of paediatric experts and the process is overseen by a paediatric formulary committee. The BNF for Children 2020-2021 has been revised and revalidated to reflect changes in product availability, emerging safety concerns and shifts in clinical practice.
British National Formulary (BNF) 80 (Print Copy) by
Compiled with the advice of clinical experts and continually updated to reflect the latest evidence from credible sources worldwide, the new edition of the British National Formulary 80 (BNF 80) provides up-to-date guidance on prescribing, dispensing, and administering medicines.
Access to the latest edition of the BNF is vital for healthcare ...
professionals, as it reflects current best practice as well as legal and professional guidelines relating to the uses of medicines.NICE has accredited the editorial process used by the British National Formulary to produce its resources.
Dale and Appelbe's Pharmacy and Medicines Law (Print copy) by
This new edition ofthis highly popular book provides an outline of the law that affects thepractice of pharmacy in Great Britain. It incorporates material from a widerange of well-known individuals in academia, professional and legal practiceand has been fully revised in line with current law and regulation. In particular, thechapters on controlled drugs and poisons have been completely rewritten to makethem more accessible, information on Falsified Medicines Directive andpharmacovigilance has been added to all the relevant chapters and there is commentaryon the latest standards and guidance from the General Pharmaceutical Council. Thechapter on Fitness to Practise has also been considerably enhanced with new caselaw and revised procedural protocols and the chapter organisation has been re-orderedand consolidated. Chapters 2-16 now cover all human medicines legislation,including controlled drugs; chapter 17 covers legislation on animal medicines.A new chapter 18 consolidates the law on poisons, denatured alcohols andchemicals. The book is an invaluablesource for pharmacy undergraduates, pre-registration students and pharmacistsin all branches of the profession, and also for others in Britain and overseaswho may need some knowledge of contemporary British law relating to medicinesand poisons and pharmacy professional regulation.
Foundation in Pharmacy Practice (Print Copy) by
Gives an introductory overview to pharmacy practice. This book is suitable for first year undergraduate students, providing a starting point for further study and is facilitated by regular signposting and referencing to specific texts. It also includes an easily navigated glossary of reference terms.
Introduction to Pharmaceutical Calculations. (Print copy) by
Introduction to Pharmaceutical Calculations is an essential study aid for pharmacy students. Contains worked examples and sample questions and answers.
Medicines, Ethics and Practice 44th edn. by
Updated each year, Medicines, Ethics & Practice: A Guide For Pharmacists & Pharmacy Technicians is the most respected practical guide for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians. This is the 2011 update to the yearly published practical guide to the legal restrictions on the sale or supply of medicinal products and poisons, to the Code of Ethics for Pharmacists and Pharmacy Technicians and to practice guidance. Contents: General Legal Requirements; Code of Ethics for Pharmacists and Pharmacy; Technicians and Professional Standards and Guidance; Documents supporting the Code of Ethics; and Improving Pharmacy Practice References. Key Features: Updated legal guidelines section; Essential legal reference guide; and Industry respected and endorsed.
New guide to medicines and drugs. 7th edn.(Print Copy) by 
Pharmaceutical Practice by
This comprehensive book covers a wide range of subjects relevant to pharmacy practice, including communication skills, managing a business, quality assurance, dispensing, calculations, packaging, storage and labeling of medicines, sterilization, prescriptions, hospital-based services, techniques and treatments, adverse drug reactions, pharmacoeconomics, and medicines management. Features useful appendices on medical abbreviations, pharmaceutical Latin terms, weights and measures, and presentation skills. This is a core text for pharmacy practice and dispensing modules of the pharmacy curriculum Covers key exam material for essential review and test preparation Features a user-friendly design with clear headings, chapter summaries, helpful boxes, and key points Several totally new chapters have been added on the following topics: the 'essential medicines concept', pharmacy management, complementary and alternative medicines, pharmacoeconomics, and presentation skills. There has been major expansion of many chapters, including social and behavioural aspects of pharmacy, calculations, medicines information, and drug administration by the inhaled route. All other chapters have been thoroughly revised and updated.
Quality Assurance of Aseptic Preparation Services Standards Handbook. 5th edn. (Print copy) by
Quality Assurance of Aseptic Preparation Services Standards Handbook (also known as the Yellow Guide) provides standards for unlicensed aseptic preparation in the UK, as well as practical information to aid implementation of the standards. The handbook delivers essential standards in a practical way and in a format that will be useful for pharmacy management, staff working in aseptic preparation units and those whose role it is to audit the services. The accompanying support resources help with understanding the complexities of relevant topics including microbiology, radiopharmaceuticals, advanced therapy medicinal products, technical (quality) agreements and capacity planning. All the standards have been revised and updated for this 5th edition. The text is produced on behalf of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS) and the NHS Pharmaceutical Quality Assurance Committee. New in this edition: Replaces the 4th edition standards and forms the basis for an ongoing audit program in the NHS Many new and revised standards Greater emphasis on Pharmaceutical Quality Systems; the responsibilities of pharmacy management, Chief Pharmacists (or equivalent), has been expanded in line with developments in Good Manufacturing Practice Reformatted into 2 parts: standards and support resources. This is a new collaboration between the RPS and NHS. Since the previous edition the RPS has become the professional body for pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists. RPS launched these standards as part of a library of professional standards and a programme of work to create standards for all areas of pharmacy. The Handbook is essential for pharmacists, hospital pharmacy management and technical services teams, and auditors of unlicensed NHS hospital pharmacy aseptic preparation services in the UK, pharmacists and regulators. The text is used to inform standards used in several other countries.
Rules and Guidance for Pharmaceutical Distributors (Green Guide) 2017 (Print copy) by
This title is an essential reference work for all those involved in the distribution of medicines in Europe. It reproduces relevant parts of Rules and Guidance for Pharmaceutical Manufacturers and Distributors (commonly known as the Orange Guide) specific to wholesale supply and distribution of medicines for human use. It is compiled by the UK drug regulatory body, MHRA, and contains official EU guidance on good distribution practice and wholesale distribution along with relevant information on EU and UK legislation. It brings together the main pharmaceutical regulations, directives and guidance which manufacturers and wholesalers are expected to follow when distributing medicinal products within Europe. Changes to this new edition: There have been significant changes and additions to the detailed European Community guidelines on Good Distribution Practice (GDP) as well as substantial amendments to the Community code relating to medicinal products for human use. This new edition covers these important changes as well as featuring the addition of the Guidelines on principles of Good Distribution Practice of active substances for medicinal products for human use (2015/C 95/01).
Rules and Guidance for Pharmaceutical Manufacturers and Distributors (Orange Guide) 2017 (Print copy - REFERENCE ONLY) by
Familiarly known as the Orange Guide, this title is an essential reference work for all those involved in the manufacture and distribution of medicines in Europe. It is compiled by the UK drug regulatory body, MHRA, and brings together the European and UK guidance documents and information on legislation relating to the manufacture and distribution of medicines for human use. It contains EU guidance on good manufacturing and good distribution practice along with relevant information on EU and UK legislation. Changes in this new edition: Revised Annex 15. The revision of Annex 15 takes into account changes to other sections of the EudraLex, Volume 4, Part I, relationship to Part II, Annex 11, ICH Q8, Q9, Q10 and Q11, QWP guidance on process validation, and changes in manufacturing technology. Revised Annex 16. The GMP Guide Annex 16 has been revised to reflect the globalisation of the pharmaceutical supply chains and the introduction of new quality control strategies. The revision has been carried out in the light of Directive 2011/62/EU amending Directive 2001/83/EC as regards the prevention of the entry into the legal supply chain of falsified medicinal products. This version also implements ICH Q8, Q9 and Q10 documents, and interpretation documents, such as the manufacturing and importation authorisation (MIA) interpretation document, as applicable. Also, some areas, where the interpretation by Member States has not been consistent, have been clarified. This revised Annex came into operation 15 April 2016. The introduction of guidelines on setting health based exposure limits for use in risk identification in the manufacture of different medicinal products in shared facilities. The introduction of guidelines on the formalised risk assessment for ascertaining the appropriate GMP for excipients. The addition of the Guidelines on principles of Good Distribution Practice of active substances for medicinal products for human use (2015/C 95/01). These guidelines provide stand-alone guidance on Good Distribution Practice (GDP) for manufacturers, importers and distributors of active substances for medicinal products for human use. These guidelines should be followed as of 21 September 2015. The addition of the principles and guidelines of Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP) for active substances for medicinal products for human use, including active substances intended for export. Revisions to the UK Human Medicines Regulations 2012. MHRA GMP Data Integrity Definitions and Guidance for Industry is now included which sets out MHRA expectations for data integrity in good manufacturing practice (GMP). The Guidance complements existing EU GMP guidance and should be read in conjunction with national medicines legislation and the GMP standards published in Eudralex volume.
Human Biology by
Building on the success of the second edition, this truly accessible textbook comprehensively covers the 2008 AS and A2 level Human Biology specifications for all the main UK exam boards.The book also has a companion website which is free to book users providing extra resources. Written by authors with many years' experience of teaching, examining and writing, this is an ideal resource for class or independent study. The book includes the following features: * How Science Works feature boxes focus on this key element of the new specifications. * Stretch and Challenge boxes challenge more able students, enabling them to achieve the highest grades. * Science in Context boxes encourage students to relate their learning to the world around them. * Summaries at the end of every chapter help students with revision. * Test Yourself questions throughout the text enable students to monitor their own progress in preparation for their exams. * Remember This boxes highlight the key facts. The website provides the following additional resources: * Practice questions (and answers) allow students to test their understanding of the material just covered. * How Science Works assignments allow students to prepare for the How Science Works element of the new AS and A2 Human Biology exams.
New Biology for You by
'Biology For You' has been updated to offer comprehensive coverage of the revised GCSE specifications. It can be used with either mixed ability or streamed sets and higher tier materials are clearly marked.
OCR A Level Biology Student Book 1 (E-book) by 
AQA A level Science : AQA A Level Chemistry Student Book 2 by 
Edexcel A Level Chemistry : Edexcel A Level Chemistry Student Book 1 by 
N4-5 : Edexcel A Level Chemistry Student Book 2, Volume 2 by 
OCR A Level Chemistry A : OCR A Level Chemistry Student Book 2 by 
Physics Essentials for Dummies by
For students who just need to know the vital concepts of physics, whether as a refresher, for exam prep, or as a reference, Physics Essentials For Dummies is a must-have guide. Free of ramp-up and ancillary material, Physics Essentials For Dummies contains content focused on key topics only. It provides discrete explanations of critical concepts taught in an introductory physics course, from force and motion to momentum and kinetics. This guide is also a perfect reference for parents who need to review critical physics concepts as they help high school students with homework assignments, as well as for adult learners headed back to the classroom who just need a refresher of the core concepts. The Essentials For Dummies Series Dummies is proud to present our new series, The Essentials For Dummies. Now students who are prepping for exams, preparing to study new material, or who just need a refresher can have a concise, easy-to-understand review guide that covers an entire course by concentrating solely on the most important concepts. From algebra and chemistry to grammar and Spanish, our expert authors focus on the skills students most need to succeed in a subject.
New Physics for You by
This edition has been updated to offer comprehensive coverage of the revised GCSE specifications. It provides full coverage of key skills requirements and a wide range of support for ideas and evidence in science.
A Level Advancing Physics for OCR year 1 and AS Student Book (OCR B) by
New and updated resources tailored to the 2015 Advancing Physics specification, from OCR's resource partner. With new accessible format and features throughout, these resources retain the ethos of Advancing Physics while providing full support for the new linear qualification. Accompanied by a bank of support and online resources on Kerboodle.
Edexcel A Level Physics Student Book 1 by 
AQA A level Science : AQA A Level Physics Student Book 1 by 
AQA A-level physics 2 by 
Biochemistry by
A range of textbooks and teacher support materials for AS and A level Pre 2008 specification. Biochemistry has been developed specifically for the new specifications for Advanced Level Chemistry for teaching from September 2000. It has been endorsed by OCR for use with the OCR Chemistry specification A. Providing full coverage of the Chemistry option module of the same name. In combination with other books in the series it provides full coverage of the Advanced Level specifications. Self-assessment questions (with answers) and exam-style end-of-chapter exercises offer excellent opportunities for independent study. Chapter introductions and summaries provide the basis for structured revision. Full-colour illustration and student-friendly design make the science accessible to all.
Biochemistry for Dummies® by
Grasp biochemistry basics, apply the science, and ace your exams Are you baffled by biochemistry? If so here's the good news ? you don't have to stay that way! Biochemistry For Dummies shows you how to get a handle on biochemistry, apply the science, raise your grades, and prepare yourself to ace any standardized test. This friendly, unintimidating guide presents an overview of the material covered in a typical college-level biochemistry course and makes the subject easy to understand and accessible to everyone. From cell ultrastructure and carbohydrates to amino acids, proteins, and supramolecular structure, you'll identify biochemical structures and reactions, and send your grades soaring. Newest biology, biochemistry, chemistry, and scientific discoveries Updated examples and explanations Incorporates the most current teaching techniques From water biochemistry to protein synthesis, Biochemistry For Dummies gives you the vital information, clear explanations, and important insights you need to increase your understanding and improve your performance on any biochemistry test.
Anatomy and Physiology for Midwives by
Anatomy & Physiology for Midwives 3rd edition builds on the success of the first two editions with electronic ancillaries, more accessible, woman-centred language and strengthened links with good practice. The book provides a thorough review of anatomy and physiology applicable to midwifery, from first principles through to current research, utilizing case studies for reflection. A comprehensive and well-illustrated textbook that is an essential purchase for all students of midwifery.
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses at a Glance by
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses at a Glance is the perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registration nursing and healthcare students, from the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series. Combining superb illustrations with accessible and informative text, this book covers all the body systems and key concepts encountered from the start of the pre-registration nursing or healthcare programme, and is ideal for anyone looking for an overview of the human body. Providing a concise, visual overview of anatomy and physiology and the related biological sciences, this book will help students develop practical skills, enabling them to become caring, kind and compassionate nurses. Superbly illustrated, with full colour illustrations throughout Breaks down complex concepts in an accessible way Written specifically for nursing and healthcare students with all the information they need Includes access to a companion website with self-assessment questions for each chapter Available in a range of digital formats- perfect for 'on the go' study and revision
Anatomy and physiology for nursing and healthcare professionals by 
The Complete World of Human Evolution by
The earliest apes evolved around twenty million years ago, yet Homo sapiens has existed for a mere 160,000 years. In the intervening period, dozens of species of early ape and human have lived and died out, leaving behind the fossilized remains that have helped to make the detailed picture of our evolution revealed here. Since this book was first published in 2005 there have been exciting new developments in the story of ape and human evolution, and the authors take account of them in this revised edition. The big gap in the fossil record in Africa is beginning to be filled with the discovery of several new species of apes in Kenya and Ethiopia that date from ten to nine million years ago. There are new discoveries of Australopithecus, updates on the dating of hominin sites, results of new DNA analyses, and much more. Illustrated with photographs, diagrams, and reconstruction drawings, this is essential reading for anyone interested in human origins.
Essentials of human anatomy & physiology. 11th edition by
A standard Anatomy and Physiology text book. The book offers the right balance of anatomy, physiology and clinical coverage. Clinical photos help students to visualize diseases and disorders as well as concept links which help students make connections across topics and body systems.
Fundamentals of Children's Anatomy and Physiology by
When caring for the well or ill child, recognising and responding to their anatomical and physiological differences is essential. Fundamentals of Children's Anatomy and Physiology provides child nursing students and registered nurses with a succinct but complete overview of the structure and function of the child's body, plus clinical applications throughout to demonstrate how the concepts relate to real-life nursing. Each chapter lists learning outcomes and includes clinical considerations, body maps, a range of high-quality illustrations and test-your-knowledge questions. The book is also accompanied by a companion website with further self-assessment and quizzes.
A History of the Royal College of Nursing, 1916-90 by
This is the history of one of the largest nursing organizations in the world and one of the largest professional associations of women. The Royal College of Nursing began as a small professional association in 1916. Its work included nurses' education, professional policy and labour relations. It considers the history of nursing from political, social and economic points of view and sheds light on both gender relations and theposition of women in the work place in Britain since 1916. The themes include the struggle to achieve professional status for nurses, the radicalization of nurses from the 1960s, the effect of immigration on nursing as a work force, gender relations within the profession and between nurses, theiremployers and other health professionals. This book will appeal to anyone interested in nursing studies, gender history and labour history.
Human Biology by
Building on the success of the second edition, this truly accessible textbook comprehensively covers the 2008 AS and A2 level Human Biology specifications for all the main UK exam boards.The book also has a companion website which is free to book users providing extra resources. Written by authors with many years' experience of teaching, examining and writing, this is an ideal resource for class or independent study. The book includes the following features: * How Science Works feature boxes focus on this key element of the new specifications. * Stretch and Challenge boxes challenge more able students, enabling them to achieve the highest grades. * Science in Context boxes encourage students to relate their learning to the world around them. * Summaries at the end of every chapter help students with revision. * Test Yourself questions throughout the text enable students to monitor their own progress in preparation for their exams. * Remember This boxes highlight the key facts. The website provides the following additional resources: * Practice questions (and answers) allow students to test their understanding of the material just covered. * How Science Works assignments allow students to prepare for the How Science Works element of the new AS and A2 Human Biology exams.
The Human Body in Health and Disease (14th edn) Print Copy by
Prepare your students for success in their allied health careers with Memmler''s The Human Body in Health and Disease, 13e. Acclaimed for its innovations in pedagogy and approach, the book has already helped hundreds of thousands of allied health students (including those with little or no background in science and/or weak language skills) to master the content of the course. From its pioneering use of phonetic pronunciations to its pedagogically effective skin-to-bone transparencies of the human body, to this edition''s new personalized chapter-by-chapter quizzes powered by prepU; this book continues to set the standard for the one-semester course.nbsp; nbsp; Continuing the tradition of excellence that has made the book a classic, this edition prepares students for success in their healthcare careers through easy-to-understand, beautifully illustrated coverage of the essentials of human anatomy, physiology, and the effects of disease. Throughout the book, anatomical art illustrates concepts with accuracy, simplicity, and elegance; medical case studies enhanced with additional clinical content demonstrate the relevance of the content to a career in the health professions; and unique pedagogy helps students master the anatomic and medical terminology they will encounter in healthcare settings. nbsp; Now more engaging, easier to learn from, and easier to remember than ever before, the Thirteenth Edition features a clear, friendly writing style; a dramatically enhanced design, photo, and art program; a wide array of in-text and online learning tools tailored to the needs of allied health students; and an unparalleled suite of instructor and student resources designed to save you time and help your students succeed. nbsp; Student Resources Personalized chapter quizzes powered by prepU help each student learn more, while giving you a window into your students' progress by highlighting misconceptions, strengths, and weaknesses. Chapter pre-quizzes help students pinpoint areas of focus. Online animations make complex concepts and processes easier to understand. An online learning style assessment helps students identify their personal learning style, so that they can maximize their use of the wide range of online learning activities on thePoint. Eleven different types of learning activities, including multiple-choice, true/false, key terms, fill-in-the-blank, look and label, audio flash cards, word anatomy, piece it together, zooming in, listen and label, and body building, help students study and review. An audio glossary pronounces and defines key medical terms. Supplemental images and tables enhance student understanding Study and test-taking tips help students master chapter content and prepare for exams. Career Informationnbsp;boxes showcase a variety of health careers. Answers to the text''s Questions for Study and Review help students master key concepts. Maximize your study time, improve your performance on exams, and succeed in this course with the for-sale Study Guide. Instructor Resources: Personalized chapter quizzes powered by prepU help each student learn more and give you a window into your students' progress by highlighting misconceptions, strengths, and weaknesses. An improved online Instructor's Manual provides a wide range of resources to support your teaching, including tips for using the book in a flipped classroom or for online learning. A robusttest generatorbank makes building tests and exams quick and easy. A complete image bank with additional images enhances lecture and exam preparation. Online animations can be incorporated into your lectures to help your students better understand complex concepts and processes. Answers to Study Guide Questions are provided for your convenience. Lesson Plans make the text easier to teach from. Pre-loaded PowerPoint presentations speed lecture preparation. nbsp; In addition, you can package the text with a number of books and resources, depending on your course goals and teaching preferences. For a greater focus on medical terminology, package the text with Barbara Cohen''s, Medical Terminology: An Illustrated Guide 7e. To increase students'' success and pass rates in the course, package the text with prepU. To give your students even more opportunities to practice and review, package the text with the Study Guide. To provide your students with the ultimate success package, bundle the text with prepU and the Study Guide. To give your students a clinically based on-line lab experience without expensive equipment, package the text with A.D.A.M. Interactive Anatomy Online: Student Lab Activity Guide, 4e.
Introduction to the Anatomy and Physiology of Children by
Fully updated, this new edition provides an introduction to normal, healthy physical development for all professionals who specialise in working with children. The author, an experienced nurse teacher, guides the reader through the key changes in body systems and functions from embryo to birth through childhood and adolescence. Chapter 1 sets the scene for physical needs in child development, such as the need to be warm and safe. Chapters 2 to 9 cover the body systems: skeletal; nervous; cardiovascular; respiratory; renal; digestive; reproductive; and immune. The embryology and physiological function at birth is explored in each chapter before the text moves on through the many changes over the next decade to puberty and the arrival at adult functioning. A new final chapter provides a holistic account of children's development, body and mind. Each chapter is illustrated with line drawings and tables, and ends with scenarios which illustrate how knowledge supports good practice in a real-life situation, and a quiz to consolidate learning. Concise and clearly written, this introductory text will be essential reading for all those working with children and families in the health and social care sector, enabling them to ensure children enjoy a safe and healthy childhood in line with Every Child Matters and new national service frameworknbsp;directives.
New Biology for You by
'Biology For You' has been updated to offer comprehensive coverage of the revised GCSE specifications. It can be used with either mixed ability or streamed sets and higher tier materials are clearly marked.
Ross and Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness by
The new edition of the hugely successful Ross and Wilson Anatomy & Physiology in Health and Illness continues to bring its readers the core essentials of human biology presented in a clear and straightforward manner. Fully updated throughout, the book now comes with enhanced learning features including helpful revision questions and an all new art programme to further clarify the explanations given in the text. The 13th edition retains its popular website, which contains a wide range of 'critical thinking' exercises as well as new animations, an audio-glossary, the unique Body Spectrum© online colouring and self-test program, and helpful weblinks. This book is ideal for students of nursing and allied health professions, biomedical and paramedical science, operating department practice, complementary therapy and massage therapy, as well as trainee Health Care Assistants and those studying A' level or BTEC (or equivalent) human biology. Ross and Wilson Anatomy & Physiology in Health and Illness will be of particular help to readers new to the subject area, those returning to study after a period of absence and for anyone whose first language is not English. Latest edition of the world's most popular textbook on basic human anatomy and physiology with over 1.5 million copies sold worldwide Clear, no nonsense writing style helps make learning easy Accompanying website contains animations, audio-glossary, case studies and other self-assessment material, the unique Body Spectrum© online colouring and self-test software, and helpful weblinks Includes basic pathology and pathophysiology of important diseases and disorders Contains helpful learning features such as Learning Outcomes boxes, colour coding and design icons together with a stunning illustration and photography collection Contains clear explanations of common prefixes, suffixes and roots, with helpful examples from the text, plus a glossary and an appendix of normal biological values. Particularly valuable for students who are completely new to the subject, or returning to study after a period of absence, and for anyone whose first language is not English All new illustration programme brings the book right up-to-date for today's student Helpful 'Spot Check' questions at the end of each topic to monitor progress Fully updated throughout with the latest information on common and/or life threatening diseases and disorders Review and Revise end-of-chapter exercises assist with reader understanding and recall Over 120 animations - many of them newly created - help clarify underlying scientific and physiological principles and make learning fun
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by
For over 100 years, health care professionals have relied on Dorland's for its unmatched comprehensiveness, accuracy, clarity, and ease of use. Now, the 30th Edition of the world's finest medical dictionary features an all-new design with full-color, three-dimensional line art, color photography, and diagnostic and pathologic images. The New Edition features more than 125,000 terms, including over 3,000 new terms -- over 800 related to complementary and alternative medicine -- as well as improved and expanded appendices. An accompanying CD-ROM includes the Dorland's Spellchecker program. A new, full-color design and art program makes reference even easier and more enjoyable, with... - Over 500 new full-color line drawings - Over 500 full-color photographs - Head words now in color - Color tables and appendices Approximately 800 new terms from Complementary and Alternative Medicine mirror the increasing popularity of non-traditional treatments. Appendices have been reorganized and expanded to feature additional material of interest to medical transcriptionists and other specialty groups.
Essential Medical Terminology by
Essential Medical Terminology, Fourth Edition is included in the 2015 edition of the essential collection of Doody's Core Titles.Essential Medical Terminology, Fourth Edition is updated with a new full-color design as well as new and revised terms and definitions. The Fourth Edition includes more than 200 full-color photos, illustrations, and tables to enhance key points and aid comprehension.This best-selling introduction to medical terminology is based on the body-systems method and is flexible enough to be used in traditional or self-instructional course formats. Suited for students of all levels in the health professions, this accessible text provides the appropriate amount of detail needed to learn the basics of medical terminology. After learning the fundamentals of pronunciation, students can study the chapters in any order the instructor deems appropriate.NEW TO THE FOURTH EDITION * New and revised terms * Additional test questions* Objectives added to selected chapters* Updated bibliography in Appendix B* Several new interactive learning toolsFEATURES* Confusing Medical Terms* Pharmacology and Medical Terminology* Allied Health Professions* New full-color pictures showing common clinical disorders and associated anatomyEach new copy of Essential Medical Terminology, Fourth Edition includes an access code for the Navigate Companion Website including an Interactive Glossary with audio pronunciation. Please note some electronic formats do not include access to the companion website. Access to the companion website may be purchased separately.
Medical Firsts by
An exploration of medical discoveries-from the ancient Greeks to the present Always help, or at least do no harm. Following this simple yet revolutionary idea, Hippocrates laid the foundation for modern medicine over two millennia ago. From the Hippocratic Oath to the human genome, from Pasteur's germ theory to the worldwide eradication of smallpox, Medical Firsts brings to life 2,500 years of medical advances and discoveries. Organized chronologically, the book describes each milestone in a vivid capsule history, making it a fascinating and wonderfully readable resource for anyone interested in medicine's past progress and future promise. Robert E. Adler, PhD (Santa Rosa, CA) has worked as a psychologist and science journalist. He writes about a wide variety of scientific and medical topics for New Scientist, Nature, and other publications and is the author of Science Firsts (0-471-40174-9).
Medicine and Charity Before the Welfare State by
What have been the roles of charities and the state in supporting medical provision? These are issues of major relevance, as the assumptions and practices of the welfare state are increasingly thrown into doubt. This title offers a broad perspective on the relationship between charity and medicine in Western Europe, up to the advent of welfare states in the 20th century. Through detailed case studies, the authors highlight significant differences between Britain, France, Italy and Germany, and offer a critical vocabulary for grasping the issues raised. This volume reflects recent developments relating to the role of charity in medicine, particularly the revival of interest in the place of voluntary provision in contemporary social policy. It emphasizes the changing balance of "care" and "cure" as the aim of medical charity, and shows how economic and political factors influenced the various forms of charity.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by
So much more than just a bestselling dictionary, Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 9th Edition is a one-stop reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features over 56,000 authoritative definitions, 45 appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, online resources, and more than 2,450 full-color illustrations - nearly three times more than any other dictionary available - making it an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike. UNIQUE! More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. A Color Atlas of Human Anatomy contains 43 pages of clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P review and reference. Over 56,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions - including expanded definitions for selected entries, particularly major diseases, disorders, and procedures - offer the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. 23 appendixes - 13 in the dictionary and 10 on the companion Evolve website - offer quick access to useful reference information, such as lab values, symbols and abbreviations, language translation guides, pharmacology, infection control standards, conversion tables, and clinical calculations. A strict, common-sense alphabetical organization with no subentries makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. NEW! Over 300 new and updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions and reflect current health care practice and equipment. NEW! Approximately 11,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Editor Marie O'Toole, EdD, RN, FAAN lends her expertise to this new edition, reviewing and revising all definitions and assembling a team of leading consultants and contributors.
Develop Your Presentation Skills by
Going beyond handling nerves and presenting PowerPoint slides, the third edition of Develop Your Presentation Skills offers practical advice on developing a captivating presentation, constructing compelling content, and boosting self-confidence. The book includes three new chapters on delivering a "stripped down" presentation, using new media to engage with the audience, and handling being asked to present on short notice.
Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social Care by
How do I start my literature review? What sources can I go to for information? How do I analyse the work of others? This clear, practical book guides readers undertaking their own literature review through the process, giving them the skills and knowledge they need for success. The chapters address: - Different types of literature reviews - Critically analysing material - Presenting the final piece of work - Best practice in referencing and plagiarism - Systematic approaches to literature reviews A wide range of examples from books, journals and other sources are included to demonstrate the process in action. Each chapter also includes activities and checklists to help readers develop their own work. It will be an essential guide for all nursing and all allied healthcare students, as well as professionals working in practice.
Essentials of nursing research : appraising evidence for nursing practice by 
The good study guide. New edn. by
Developing your learning skills is one of the best investments you can make. We all need to be lifelong learners now. Whether you are an experienced student or just starting out this book will stimulate, guide and support you. It will make you think about yourself and how your mind learns. And it will change forever the way that you study.
How to Research by
How to Research is a bestselling, practical book that reassures the first time researcher by leading them systematically through the whole research process; from the initial meetings with a supervisor to critically evaluating their ideas, doing the research and finally writing up the project. The book includes vignettes to help readers relate to research examples and provides both methodological and process information. New features in this edition include: Additional coverage on literature reviews New material on changes in research ethics More detailed information on the use of diaries, internet ethnographies and visual methods Increased coverage of mixed methodologies How to Research 4e is an ideal resource for the first-time researcher doing a small-scale research project in the social sciences whether they are at university or in the workplace. It supports its readers as they develop their skills to become more experienced researchers.
How to Write Better Essays by
Have you ever wondered why some people can produce a well-structured, relevant essay written in a style that seems to glide across the page with the minimum of fuss? Do you think some people simply have these skills, and others don't, and that there is nothing we can do about it? This book just might change your mind. Addressing each landmark stage of the essay writing process, How to Write Better Essays teaches you how to… • analyse the question and break down difficult terms and concepts • brainstorm effectively and generate your own ideas • evaluate and criticise arguments • express your thoughts coherently and develop your own style of writing • plan and structure your essay from introduction to conclusion … and along the way, practical techniques show how to analyse, criticise, discuss and evaluate material, improve your style, revise your final draft and avoid plagiarism. The third edition of this bestselling book includes new chapters on critical thinking, tackling reflective writing assignments, and how to create and analyse concepts. It also features a new companion website providing annotated essays to illustrate the successful outcome of the methods you learn in the book, exercises to develop critical thinking skills, and additional examples of how to analyse concepts. For every student who needs to write essays, from whatever discipline, this book is a constant source of the help and inspiration you need to tackle your essays with confidence.
The Mature Student's Guide to Writing by
Through its use of conversational and supportive tones, this popular guide puts readers at ease, assisting the transition to academic study. With clear explanations, summaries and exercises, it is an invaluable companion for the mature student. This third edition has much new content including a new chapter on writing a dissertation proposal.
Presentation Basics by
Presentation Basics helps students hone both of the critical aspects of successful presentation--visual and verbal skills. Writing from the viewpoint that an effective presentation requires much more than adept graphic representation, Fullmer helps students strengthen their verbal skills to sell their ideas. The book also takes an essential look at business etiquette and body language, stressing the impact of these factors on a presentation.
The Student's Guide to Writing by
Aimed at students wishing to improve their writing skills, this guide deals with the key basics of grammar, punctuation and spelling while also showing students how to construct a sentence, how to build a paragraph and how to structure an essay. This third edition includes an expanded 'Spot the Mistake' section.
Studying for Success (E-book) by
This lively and stimulating book offers an enlightening new approach to effective study. Without minimising the importance of good organisation and hard work, the author stresses throughout that study must and can be fun. Delivered with characteristic humour and wisdom, Richard Palmer updates and reinvigorates a classic, best-selling book with new sections on computers and the internet, as well as chapters covering important areas such as: memory and review essay planning and writing note-taking time management using resources exam techniques and preparation. This is an inspiring, essential read for all students studying for A Levels and undergraduate degrees who want to find the key to achieving success both in coursework and exams.
The Study Skills Handbook. 4th edn. by
If you are serious about succeeding with your studies, The Study Skills Handbook is for you! Stella Cottrell has helped hundreds of thousands of students to make learning easier, faster and more enjoyable. Recognising that we all have our own unique formula for success, her tried and trusted approach allows you to find the key to unlock your potential and develop the skills you need to improve your grades, build your confidence and plan for the future you want.
